braindribbles

Mastering the never-ending to-do list

Posted on: 30/05/2012

I type this in my jim-jams, soon after despatching middle child to kindly neighbour who is taking her to school.   I have smallest one and oldest one still here.  Oldest one needs to see the doctor about a sudden and violent onset of hayfever in about half an hour.  Smallest one as a result can’t go to her music sensory toddler group Hartbeeps (which I recommend if you have any small children; it’s delightful), but hey, that’s the way things go.

Here is a list of what I need to do today.

  • Get dressed!
  • Take oldest one to doctor.
  • Clean up at home.  Especially after smallest one took a lot of time and trouble to smoosh banana into the kitchen floor.
  • Do a long and tedious work related email.
  • Pay that garage bill. At least I know how much I should pay, and I have found the chequebook.
  • Do forms for oldest one and middle one’s school trips.  And pay.
  • Organise my teaching stuff.
  • Re-think my teaching plans to include what I learned on an amazing Natal Hypnotherapy study day I just went on.
  • Work out how to get the second freezer working.
  • Try to diminish Mount Washmore

I have a magnet on my fridge that says this.
It eases the guilt a little.
(Image courtesy of 2wired2tired.com)

  • Rediscover the floor in our bedroom
  • Iron the clothes taking over the biggest wardrobe
  • Contact 7 couples that I will be teaching next week.
  • Keep smallest one from misadventures.
  • Try to spend time with smallest one in spite of all the above.

There’s probably more.

I have managed to get my phone’s timer to work properly, so I will attempt all this with the “You can do anything for 15 minutes” approach mentioned recently.

What Flylady doesn’t tell you is the effect of blogging about being disorganised:

  1. You are more likely to get things done if you tell people about it.
  2. You are likely to take twice as long because you keep reporting back to the blog.
We’ll see how we go.  Wish me luck.

I will report back! 🙂

Leave a Reply

