braindribbles

1 disorganised mum, 1 very messy house, 2 sick children: the challenge, part 1

Posted on: 14/05/2012

It’s 9.08 in the morning. I now work some Saturdays and generally slob out Sundays to recharge the batteries. So the house is really disgusting. It is my mission to get the place in order today.

I want to see how well I do, so I thought I would make notes. What works? What doesn’t work? Do poorly children get any attention? Well, let’s see…

I am going to be using the good old Flylady approach. That means, morning routine first. It’s worked well in the past. When I have felt less overwhelmed by mess. And had no children at home.

Here is a cut-and-paste of the morning routine I get emailed everyday:

-Get Dressed to Shoes including Hair/Face, Brush Teeth (yup)
– Make Bed (ummm)
-Swish & Swipe (not yet)
-Empty Dishwasher (yes!)
-Reboot Laundry (a Load a Day Keeps CHAOS Away) (only enough that oldest one has dry clothes for today; there is a trail of wet clothes leading from the washing machine to the tumble drier.)
-Check Your Calendar (no, not yet)
-Check Your Control Journal (I don’t have one any more. Oops)

At the time of writing, I have managed two of these. I should have done them all first thing, way before I took oldest one to school. Before breakfast too. (actually, I haven’t had time for breakfast yet…)

So. Part one of the challenge is to complete the morning routine. I will report back! Feel free to take bets on how long I might manage to do all that. And have breakfast.

Part two coming soon. How soon? Hmmm….

Oh! Nearly forgot. Here are some ‘before’ photos.

20120514-092207.jpg

20120514-092306.jpg

20120514-092345.jpg
Back soon! Wish me luck…

2 Responses to "1 disorganised mum, 1 very messy house, 2 sick children: the challenge, part 1"

[…] will attempt all this with the “You can do anything for 15 minutes” approach mentioned recently. […]

[…] will attempt all this with the “You can do anything for 15 minutes” approach mentioned recently. […]

Leave a Reply

