braindribbles

Tribe Talk: Holiday Routines

Posted on: 22/08/2011

Remember how I talked about keeping up routines to make a summer holiday go smoothly?

Turns out I needed a break from routines myself.

Yes, indeed. All that talk of daily routines didn’t last more than a few days.  It’s partly because loved one has had a week off this week, and that’s triggered me into weekend mode. (Weekend mode can loosely be translated as someone-else-can-do-some-of-the-work-so-I’m-going-to-veg-out mode.)

A week of weekend mode is driving me insane, though.  I’m so relaxed I’m almost asleep.  And that means bad sleep at night (I’m posting at 5.45 am). The time has come to get back into the routines.

So, this morning I will be doing the following before anything else, including opening up the laptop..

  • Get dressed, brush teeth and be ready to go out.
  • Empty the dishwasher.
  • Hang out yesterday’s laundry and get a new load on.
  • Make the bed.
  • Tidy up for fifteen minutes.
  • Eat some breakfast.

Simple stuff, I know.  But it’s the basics I can be rubbish at.  I can’t help but think that because I never had these kinds of routines at boarding school (well, except for getting dressed and eating breakfast), it doesn’t come automatically now.  I wonder if I should make a point of encouraging the kids to get used to joining in these routines. Hmm. Might be a good idea.

Oh yeah, did I mention I once went to boarding school?  An, um, interesting experience. Gives you a great instinct for survival.  Also a wonderful experience – I still have very good friends from those days (you know who you are!), and some amazing memories.  And in spite of getting you to do one cleaning job for ten minutes, three mornings a week, I generally didn’t have to clean up after myself.  My old housemistress will testify that I never got the hang of being tidy…

All the more reason to try, try and try again to make routines a habit.

Roll on the morning.

2 Responses to "Tribe Talk: Holiday Routines"

Did you stick to it?

Ha! About half of it. I’m dressed, I’ve had breakfast, and,um, I’ve been sidetracked by the need to blog tomorrow’s post 😉

Leave a Reply

