braindribbles

A move date

Posted on: 17/08/2011

That’s right.  We have a moving date.  29 September.  Expect some disruption to your usual service.

Only thing is, it’s a one-way moving date.  We move out on 29 September.

As things stand right now, we become homeless that day. Rental property is like gold dust where we are looking (we’re trying to look in the school catchment that we want so that the kids don’t have to change schools.)  I got in touch with three agents today, who all said that the property advertised has already gone.

Boo. Those were the only ones in the area.

All this on top of not yet knowing whether we’ve got the house we want to move into (which won’t be available till December, hence the homeless thing).   We found an extra few grand after loved one filed his company tax return and discovered he had a rather nice rebate, meaning we could offer what they needed.  But…they still haven’t come back to us.  I believe it’s just a bit convoluted rather than deliberate silence, since there’s the selling agent, the developer, the developer’s agent and the owner of the house we want that’s buying the new home from the developer that Jack built, and all of them have some say in whether our offer is accepted.

Still with me? I think you get the gist.

Do any of you have any nuggets of wisdom on the rental thing?  In spite of my original leanings towards the idea of home-schooling for a short period of time, my realist self tells me I won’t get much education into them when I’m going to be busy (a) trying to move and (b) trying to complete my diploma.

Really not sure what to do.  It’s a bit of a headache really.  (Mind you, loved one seems fairly chilled out about it all.  He nipped out for an hour this afternoon (he’s on leave this week) and came back with a brand new iPad. I refuse to be jealous. As long as he lets me use it regularly, that is.)

But no! A brainwave! Perhaps…the answer is not to rent there but to rent..here.  North Bedfordshire will be an awful lot cheaper than South Buckinghamshire. Local friends will be delighted (I hope) to see us for a little longer, and we won’t disrupt the schooling.

Need to consult with loved one about it – assuming I can prise him away from the new iPad long enough to have a conversation, that is – but I think this may be the answer.

Hooray!  I love blogging.  I always seem to get a solution. 🙂

8 Responses to "A move date"

That makes more sense.

Me? Make sense? Well, that makes a nice change 🙂

Well, that sounds like a genius solution to me – can’t wait to hear what your iPad-free discussion reveals.

Haha! It turns out we used the iPad to discuss and research at the same time…Handy things, they are. And I’m not too jealous. Yet.. (And yes, we agreed to look for a rental in north Beds – the difference in price was too big to ignore.)

Ha! You must know about the trick where you say to yourself, “I have to give up X to get Y” and look at all the reasons this might be true. Then, you turn it around so it’s ” I don’t have to give up X, and I can still have Y if I ….”and repeat the exercise. It interesting how many things we assume are the case without always checking. For example, you could look in both old and new areas for rental property. Sod’s Law, once you’ve found something close to where you are now, you’ll probably find that something then becomes available in the new area!

You are so right. Indeed, something new came up, just as you predicted. In a manor house. However, the ‘no pets’ rule means I’ll have to turn down probably my only chance of living in a manor!

Our next-door-but -one neighbours are doing the same, moving out and renting here for the next school year while they find their house where they really want to be as cash buyers.

[…] schools are full for the years that middle and oldest ones will be coming into.  We solved the rental issue, though.  For the two months or so, loved one’s darling parents have kindly agreed to have […]

Leave a Reply

