braindribbles

I don’t belieeeeve it

Posted on: 15/08/2011

We saw a house we liked yesterday.   We are considering offering.  So, in my usual way, I’m running away with creative ideas: the kitchen in this house is in desperate need of a makeover.

Inspired by mood boards in the design blogs I’ve been reading, I  spent an hour or two putting together something for the kind of kitchen I would like and could see working well in this house.  Take a look.

And then it struck me.

This is exactly the same colour scheme as my mum chose for her kitchen back in the 70s.

Picture this: Green cabinets with pine trim,  cork flooring, green table, green walls, white counter tops, and to top it off, pine tongue and groove ceiling (though I suspect that came with the house).  I wish I had a picture I could show you.  It was a great kitchen, but so green I couldn’t ever see me wanting a kitchen that colour.

And now here I am, thinking how soothing and inviting that green would be.

Oh dear.  I guess that’s why it’s not recommended to start visualising kitchens in a home you haven’t even made an offer on yet.

5 Responses to "I don’t belieeeeve it"

I remember the kitchen…and I remember thinking I would never want a kitchen that colour. There must be something soothing about green though. When we bought this house 4 years ago I painted half the bedroom walls that same shade of green!!!

It was quite a kitchen, wasn’t it? I agree, though it’s a fabulous shade for a bedroom 🙂

[…] post a status update on Facebook when our offer was finally accepted (yes, the one I had already re-designed the kitchen for).  So it’s probably no longer a surprise to most of you.  But I have to admit, even […]

[…] I’d never be able to look my mum in the eye again.) Like this:LikeBe the first to like this post. Tags: color, colour, green, […]

Leave a Reply

