braindribbles

Pass the tissues, please

Posted on: 18/07/2011

No, for once I am not talking about a snotty toddler. And no, I am definitely not going down the route that those of you with dirty minds were heading.

Indeed not. For last night I saw the last ever Harry Potter movie.

I am amazed, no, astounded, that those very same people that came on board the franchise ten years ago, barely able to wipe their own noses, could pull off something quite so brilliant. Did you notice that every single named character (with the exception of Dumbledore, what with Richard Harris having passed away) was played by the same person ten years on?

If you ask me, that in itself is quite a feat, when you consider how fickle the movie industry is in general. AND how most of them were pre-pubescent at the time.

I recall reviewing the second movie – the Chamber of Secrets.  I wasn’t too impressed with that movie, since the director had done what worked so well in Home Alone with Macaulay Culkin…and failed so miserably in a non-comedy setting. You know, getting the child to pause with a stunned look on their face just a bit longer than is natural. And I had begged the franchise to get a director who could do justice to the story.

Whether they read my review or not, they did change the director.  I loved all the movies from then on.. Alfonso Cuarón did a brilliant job with the Prisoner of Azkaban, and David Yates has worked the magic ever since.

cue another wave of tears

But, if I’m honest, whilst I enjoyed all the films immensely, not one of them has required me to bring a box of tissues into the cinema with me.  I love the story and the movies so much, I have been known to dream about them for days on end following a cinema experience. Yes, yes, I know. All the same, I’ve never been moved to tears.

Until now, of course.

Right from the start, my heart was racing at well over 100 beats per minute.  Impressive, since it was in my mouth most of the time – in spite of knowing the story from the book. There was such tension for the entire duration of the movie, I never noticed that my back ached and right leg had started to go numb.

By the time the trio got into Hogwarts and had a showdown with Professor Snape, well, that was it. The floodgates had opened. Indeed, by the time the resurrection stone makes its appearance, it took all my self-control not to start sobbing uncontrollably.

I spent the rest of the film either with tears rolling steadily down my cheeks or surreptitiously wiping them away with the back of my hand. I was just swept away by the truth and emotion of it all.

Have you ever heard of Susie Figgis? Well, she was the casting director back on the first film. How she and her colleagues picked out three diamonds – more if you consider the full cast – I don’t know. How the three directors and their crew made them into such incredible actors over that ten-year period, I don’t know. How exactly they made me cry through two thirds of the movie, I don’t know.  I guess it helped that the original story was so brilliant to start with.

All I can say is, I was blown away.

Bravo.

4 Responses to "Pass the tissues, please"

It was indeed amazing! I am feeling a bit blue now that it’s all over. I’m going to go see it again this week just to catch all the bits I am sure to have missed…

Ooh, that’s not a bad idea! Alas, my only free night is the night the babysitter’s going to see it…

I can’t WAIT to see it. Have to co-ordinate Orange Wednesday and my son being here, though.

Great review.

Great idea (hasn’t the price of cinema tickets rocketed in recent years? Orange Wednesday is the only way I can ever justify going to see more than one film per year). Get that son over pronto! 🙂

Leave a Reply

