braindribbles

Friday Fatchecker: Finding time to exercise, rather than excuses not to

Posted on: 27/05/2011

Hooray, it’s Friday.  From tonight there will be someone to share the housework and childcare with for three whole days!  (Actually, that usually means I flop and the house degenerates into chaos once more as loved one, honourable though his intentions are, attends to the dishwasher and changes a few nappies without realising that there is a little more to it than that.  And I will be cursing under my breath on Tuesday as I try and catch up.)

I’m getting sidetracked here.  It’s Friday.  And that means weighing day.  Last time I had lost a little weight through eating healthy portions, and I had tried the Dance & Tone classes.  I had been planning to get one extra bit of exercising in, dithering between gym and running.

In the end I didn’t manage any of those things.  My decision to get to the gym on my only free morning was scuppered by some appointment I’d forgotten about, loved one was away at the time of the Dance & Tone classes, and my attempts to get a babysitter failed miserably, and to top it all off I was feeling so stressed out by smallest one screaming a lot, I ate more than I should have.  The evidence is there in a packet of Pringles scoffed in one hour flat, two empty bottles of wine and a Pizza Hut receipt.

Having said that, somehow I still managed to lose a little weight! Last week I was 12 stone 2.4 lb.  Today I weighed in at 12 st 1.2 lb.  Yes, I’m still fatter than before my cheese habit got a hold over Easter, but it makes me realise that if I can suss the exercise thing, I have a hope of getting properly healthy.  Not only that, but I might be less inclined to put my hands over my ears every time smallest one screams and pick her up for a cuddle.  I know from past experience that exercise makes you feel more energetic.  I just need to make myself do it.

As you can see, this week I had a lot of excuses.  What I could have done was pick up my Davina DVD and bounce around the living room for half an hour or so.  The fact that I didn’t speaks volumes about my couch potato habits, as well as my levels of fatigue, but most of all it is rather a shining beacon highlighting my terrible self-discipline.

But there is hope. Remez Sassoon has an essay on her self-help-book-promoting-website that is actually very useful in itself.  It points out that if you keep challenging your will power and your self discipline and actually do those things you can’t be bothered to do, you will eventually get better at it.  It’s like practising an instrument.  You might be rubbish at it to start, but you will improve over time.

So perhaps this week, with all the excuses in the world at my fingertips, I will dig out that Davina DVD and bounce around the living room, and I will pick up my baby and cuddle her when she screams for the hundredth time that day.  If I can achieve it for a week, it might be easier by the time half term is over.

Leave a Reply

