braindribbles

Friday Fatchecker: Fatter but fitter

Posted on: 20/05/2011

I did manage to weigh myself in the end…last week I was an unflattering 12 st 3.8 lb, which can only mean that back in France I was inhaling cheese in much the same way as drug addicts must inhale cocaine.  Not that I would know; I just have a very active imagination.

This week I was 12 st 2.4 lb.   A small but significant improvement.

I’m keeping up with the portion plate idea, and feeling better for it.  Only today have I lapsed due to not having time to eat a real lunch.

I did actually start the dance and tone classes, which was immense fun as well as making every part of me ache afterwards.  (Also, I do find it comforting to see other overweight people there – nothing worse than being the only fat person in an exercise class.)

So, yes, I’m fatter than I was last time I checked before the Easter holidays, but improving slowly.  And I’m slowly on the road to being unfit, a vast improvement from extremely unfit.

AKARAKINGDOMS / FreeDigitalPhotos.netI do feel that I have more to do on this front.  In the long run, if we’re lucky enough to get the house we want (and ideally the school we want too), we’ll be looking at a half-hour’a brisk walk to school every morning and afternoon, with yours truly doing the return route too. So I suspect it’ll be less of an issue.

In the meantime, though I don’t want to get complacent, and I feel that one dance exercise class and one non-aerobic Pilates class isn’t going to cut much mustard.  I like one friend’s idea of doing the Couch to 5k training programme, which happens to fit in beautifully with roughly the amount of time we expect to stay in this house.  So that might be an idea.  My other idea is to get back to the gym once a week, since they have a creche that smallest one can go to.

I can’t decide right now.  Both plans have the flaw that they only work for as long as I can be bothered to do them; there is no I’ve-paid-for-half-a-term-and-I-need-value-for-money incentive, so both will require self-discipline.  I’m going to go away and think about it.  I’ll let you know how I get on.

1 Response to "Friday Fatchecker: Fatter but fitter"

[…] getting sidetracked here.  It’s Friday.  And that means weighing day.  Last time I had lost a little weight through eating healthy portions, and I had tried the Dance & Tone […]

Leave a Reply

