braindribbles

Getting up early to study, day 10..supposedly

Posted on: 14/05/2011

I managed about three days of earlybird study in total.  Then I couldn’t hack it any more.

Burning the midnight oilActually, I got the bulk of the work done by doing an almost-all-nighter last Saturday.  I was in a not-in-the-mood-to-sleep frame of mind, and it was niggling at my conscience.  So I just did it.

Somehow I also managed to be a reasonably useful person at Sunday School the next morning, too.

I write this post on the eve of my tutorial when those three pieces of work need to be presented and/or handed in.  And I write guilt-free, since I have DONE IT ALL!

Particularly pleasant has been finishing off my presentation tonight with a friend round on a study date.  We’re not doing the same course, but we both need to study.  It’s so nice to have company, both plonked on the sofa, laptops tapping away, books strewn all over the place, and in my case weird circles of semi-transparent coloured plastic, and a bunch of handouts that didn’t quite print right the first time.  Or the second time.

Funny how when you need to get something done, even if you don’t manage to do it in quite the way you planned, it all works out in the end. Admittedly it might not be that good.  I haven’t dared proofread the essay written in the middle of the night, but I am at that four-fifths-done stage of my course where I don’t care if it’s any good, I just want it over and done with.

And by this time tomorrow, I’ll have delivered the presentation and that’ll be it for a while, at least till I teach in early July.  Then it’ll be all systems go again for the last two essays after that…

2 Responses to "Getting up early to study, day 10..supposedly"

Good for you. The end is in sight!

Leave a Reply

