braindribbles

Obsolescence Averted (via Stupid Ugly Foreigner)

Posted on: 01/05/2011

Many of you have had experiences of being in a foreign country with language issues – I can recall a couple from my three-month exchange trip to Germany as a seventeen-year-old, mixing up the words ‘satt’ (full) and ‘voll’ (drunk), ‘ohne zweifel’ (without doubt) and ‘ohne zwiebel’ (without an onion), et cetera.

Teaching in a foreign country, I imagine, must have similar linguistic pitfalls, but more of them. So I was delighted to stumble across Stupid Ugly Foreigner’s site a couple of months ago. When it’s not funny, which it usually is – very – he also takes some amazing photos.

This is the post that had me snorting with laughter – and trying not to – whilst smallest one is sleeping in her cot a few feet away. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did.

And don’t let that first photo put you off.

Obsolescence Averted As an English teacher in South Korea, there are times when I feel a little useless. The kids don’t seem to develop their English lexicon, everyone around me ignores me for a while, and my very presence seems more tokenish than actually productive. I begin to feel that a monkey could do my job, or a well-designed robot manned by low-wage women in the Philippines (topical!). That maybe I should pack it in, and take this pedagogy sideshow to more pr … Read More

via Stupid Ugly Foreigner

Leave a Reply

