braindribbles

Mothering Sunday: Flowers, please

Posted on: 03/04/2011

Over the last seven years I have had fairly consistent requests for Mothering Sunday.

  1. I don’t have to change any nappies.
  2. I don’t have to cook any meals.
  3. I get to spend time with the children.

All of which is great.   This year, however, I decided to add to it.

I don’t get flowers very often.  If I do get them, there’s a 95% chance that I bought them myself.  And I really love flowers.

nuttakit / FreeDigitalPhotos.netSo, this morning, as we pass a rather nice florist before picking up the children, I inform Much Beloved of the new request. After winding him up about the £40 arrangements, I point out some inexpensive ones, see him flounder as the assistant comes over, and wander off to window-shop while he gets on with it.

He then arranges for the children to ‘surprise’ me with them a little later on.  ‘How lovely!’ I exclaim with genuine delight.

The organiser of said surprise whispers in my ear.  Is this going to be a requirement every year?

Yes, I whisper back.  No point in beating around the bush, now, is there?

2 Responses to "Mothering Sunday: Flowers, please"

Good for you 🙂 My cat bought me nothing. Second year in a row. The husband won’t help him out because apparently he’s over 20 in cat years and should be able to do it himself.

Leave a Reply

