braindribbles

Why moving house is stressful, part…I’m not sure, I’ve lost count: Widening your search

Posted on: 19/03/2011

We’re now fairly sure we’re not going to be able to proceed with the offer on the original place we asked.  It turns out someone really did place a higher offer.  And they were ready to move, having already exchanged contracts.  So, even though the owner is still procrastinating, we are, for now, expecting a rejection.

This has forced us to keep looking.  And, having virtually exhausted the possibilities in our original search area, I pressed the button on Rightmove…you know, the one that says ‘this area only’, which now says ‘within 5 miles’.

luigi diamanti / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Suddenly, today, we have found ourselves viewing a rural property.  Amazingly something has come up in the right kinds of size and within budget, which we never thought would happen.  It’s nothing special to look at, and there are things we would have to do, but I absolutely love it.

Unfortunately loved one doesn’t – is still enthralled with the original one.  I, on the other hand, have cooled off on the original one.

What happens now?  We agreed from the start that we would not offer on any properties that one of us couldn’t get on with.  But I have tremendous fatigue for the whole situation.  Loved one reminds me that it’s a marathon rather than a sprint, but I just don’t have that kind of stamina.  Nor do I want to bully him into buying a property he hates.

This means we’re in a kind of Catch-22 situation.  We could go on indefinitely looking.  Seriously.  This evening loved one was back on the computer looking at all the other rural properties we’ve overlooked till now, when I am no longer in the mood.  I’ve found the property I want to live in for the rest of my able life.

Maybe he’ll like the house more in the morning…?

Hmm. I’ll believe it when I see it.

Leave a Reply

