braindribbles

Spring is in the hair

Posted on: 11/03/2011

I saw blossom today for the first time this year.    The sun is shining, the new lambs are appearing in the fields, the daffodils are blooming, the crocuses  are peppering the verges around town and somehow everything feels better.

It’s been a bit stressful this week.  Much beloved jetted off with oldest child at 6.45 this morning to celebrate godfather’s 40th on a Napoleonic fort off the coast of one of the Channel Islands.  As you do.  We also have three viewings on our house today.  Oh, and I’ve been out doing class observations for my latest assignment.  So you can see why (a) I didn’t manage  to post anything yesterday, what with all the tidying, cleaning and packing, and (b) I needed a bit of pepping up.  Especially as I just can’t sleep well at the moment; my forgetting-the-children anxiety dreams have been replaced by we’re-never-going-to-move-house-at-this-rate anxiety dreams.

So I was quite pleased when I made it to the hair salon this morning after dumping the remaining two children at nursery and school respectively.  And I kind of shocked the hairstylist when I told him I wanted a restyle. (OK, so I was supposed to wait till I had lost some weight, but delayed gratification was not going to offer me the pick-me-up I needed right now.)

You’ve seen the odd picture of me with my normal hair; in fact if you know me, it’s what you’re used to.  Here you go if you’ve not got a clue what I usually look like: –

 

Before...

You know, one length, dead straight, etc.  Nothing essentially wrong with it, until you realise that this has been my haircut of choice, on and off, for the last twenty-three years.   I am just so bored with it.

Now, in the past, I’ve gone a bit mad with getting my hair hacked off.  Boy short is great if you have either strong cheekbones or a good chin.  I have neither.  So I decided not to go down that route any more.

This, instead, is what we went for, decided on the spur of the moment in the two minutes on the salon sofa before being called across to get my hair washed.

 

After!

To be honest, in the pic it doesn’t look drastically different.  But were you to look at it from the back (which I can’t seem to do on the webcam without breaking my neck), you’d see it’s all been hacked off so it’s definitely not one length any more.

This has the effect of making my remaining hair all light and springy.  Fresh air on the back of my neck. Mmmmm.

So, as I hop along to the nursery and pick up smallest one, there will most definitely be a spring in my step.

And in my hair.

3 Responses to "Spring is in the hair"

Ooooh, I DO like that.

Looks great. I used to have a haircut just like that 🙂

Leave a Reply

