braindribbles

Anxiety Dreams

Posted on: 04/03/2011

Filomena Scalise / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

I’ve been having the same dream on and off for months now.

I dream that I’m asleep in bed.  And then I realise I’ve forgotten one or two children somewhere.

I wake up in a panic and am halfway to the kids bedroom before the sane part of me kicks in and makes me realise that I didn’t leave any kids at the shopping centre, in the car, downstairs playing, at the park or wherever.  The children are where they are supposed to be. In bed asleep.  And I gave back any other children I had earlier in the day.

It takes me a while to calm down from these dreams.   To be honest, it took me a while to recognize these dreams and acknowledge that they are not real as soon as I wake up.

I looked it up on a site called Dream Moods.  They tell me the following:

To dream that you are forgetting things, signify life’s anxieties. You are expressing an overwhelming amount of stress in your life. You feel the need to tend to everything and everyone’s needs. Alternatively, forgetting something may represent your unconscious desire to leave that something behind.  On a more direct level, the dreamcould just be your subconscious telling you or reminding you of a forgotten appointment or date.

To dream that you forget where you live, suggests that you do not want to go home. Is there a domestic conflict or argument?

To dream that you forget the baby, indicates that you are feeling burdened by the responsibility of taking care of someone else.

So I’m under an overwhelming amount of stress, and I’m feeling burdened by the responsibility of taking care of someone else.

Well, thinking about it, there’s a fair bit of stress.  Studying, moving house, and trying to take care of three kids can be stressful.  But there is good stress and bad stress, and all these things are mostly good stress, since they all have a positive outcome, and thankfully, in spite of what the Dreammoods site says, I don’t feel overwhelmed.

Well, not quite.

And I’m feeling burdened by the responsibility of taking care of someone, am I?  Well, nobody said it was easy.  But I wouldn’t call it a burden so much as a self-inflicted injury that brings as much joy as it does anything else.

I suspect I’m going to keep having these dreams until something eases up.  Let’s see when that will be, then…  Studies – hopefully 9 months.  Moving house – hopefully within 6 months.  Babies and children – umm…

Yep.  I’m going to keep having these dreams for a while.

3 Responses to "Anxiety Dreams"

that sounds really distressing, i hope you find your inner calm soon enough!

Thanks. I reckon it’ll come back (well, partly) once we’ve moved house and got some semblance of normal 🙂

[…] (b) I needed a bit of pepping up.  Especially as I just can’t sleep well at the moment; my forgetting-the-children anxiety dreams have been replaced by we’re-never-going-to-get-our-house anxiety […]

Leave a Reply

