braindribbles

Friday Fatchecker, part 6

Posted on: 11/02/2011

I’ve been putting off this post.

For the first time since starting this I have gained weight.

That was not in the plan.

I’m now 12 st 1 lb.  So clearly I need to make a bit more effort if I want to see a weight with the number eleven at the front.

I brought this up at the dinner table, as we were demolishing a delicious chicken pie (an impulse buy my pie-addict husband came home with), and my biggest problem is my appetite.

I say ‘my’ appetite. I think my appetite was stolen a long time ago, about the time I was first expecting.  Somewhere out there is a very thin monster who is wondering why he doesn’t inhale the food from both his and all his fellow monster’s plates as soon as look at them.  And here am I, with never a sign to show how my kids are quite picky eaters.

I’ve been trying to be more conscious of this, but at the crucial moment the monster in me almost overrides any sensible thoughts I might be having, and before I know it, I’m scoffing the lot, and raiding the kitchen cupboards for anything else I can get my teeth into.

OK, so the breastfeeding thing is not helping.  But the amount I eat is way out of proportion to the extra calories I’m expending through my milk.  And if past experience is anything to go by, there won’t be a noticeable difference even when I do hang up the boobs for good.

I know that at least part of the solution is getting enough sleep.  Difficult as that is for me, somehow that seems more achievable than trying to cure my insatiable appetite for all things edible any other way I can think of.  But that’s more of a long-term goal.

I also know that if I’m sufficiently well distracted (by the computer more often than not), I don’t miss the food.  Perhaps, then, I need to distract myself immediately after I’ve finished my serving.

My man suggested having fruit for pudding.  Without waiting for the kids to finish picking at their own food.

Sura Nualpradid / freedigitalphotos.net

That might just work.  I’m off to try it before I hoover up the leftovers again.

Tags:

5 Responses to "Friday Fatchecker, part 6"

When you get hungry during the day, drink some water and eat some fruit. Eat a bit less in the evening, job done! If only it were actually that easy 😉

Definitely going to buy more fruit. I’m not that into fruit…but i wonder if now is the time to test the “fake it till you make it” principle”.

It’s SO difficult this one. I’ve tried going and brushing my teeth when I feel hungry, and sticking pictures of slim women wearing clothes I would like to be able to fit into all over my kitchen cupboards. Or having two cups of tea BEFORE I sit down to a meal, so I’m full of liquid. But even so, it’s not really working.

It’s almost as if when we’re tired we’re programmed to eat nonstop…

If there was a magic way to control appetite, someone would have found it by now.

The real secret of being slim is: be a naturally slim person. Everyone else has to do it the hard way.

Leave a Reply

