braindribbles

Netball: A revelation

Posted on: 19/01/2011

 

The netball

Photo courtesy of netball queen Lucy

A very good friend (she of the ball pictured above) organised a netball party on Saturday as a novel way to celebrate her birthday.

Now,  all of us there were over thirty and mostly pushing forty or more, and very few of us had played for a good twenty years.

My memory of netball at school was not one I recalled enthusiastically when the invitation to join in arrived in my inbox.  I am unfit and overweight, assigned a position of goal defence which I thought would be pointless when I am only 5 foot 3½.  But I thought I would give it a jolly good go, because the friend meant a lot to me, and I knew I would regret it if I didn’t at least try.

So I tried, expecting to hate it like I did twenty years ago.

As a result, I am still aching in places I never knew I had muscles.  I reckon I burned more calories in that one hour than I do in an entire morning at the gym.

But it turns out, that while I’m not brilliant at netball, nor am I terrible.  And certainly not as rubbish as I thought I was.  Actually trying my best seems to have made a world of difference.  Especially as we were doing it for fun, rather than because some horrible PE teacher wanted us to suffer.

And running around that netball court on a miserable January afternoon, even though I was panting like I’d just run the London marathon, was just so much fun!

I enjoyed it so much, that in spite of being in pain for forty-eight hours, I would do it again.

It turns out I will!  Nearly all the other women on that court had as much fun as me, and we have agreed to punish our bodies on the netball court every six weeks or so for the sake of an hour’s fun.

Like I say, a revelation.

5 Responses to "Netball: A revelation"

Awesome!

I think it’s being with friends that makes the most difference. Makes it feel more like play!

I reckon you’re right. Though I didn’t know 3/4 of them beforehand there was a real sense of camaraderie. Though my theory regarding horrible PE teachers still stands of course!

The crumpets shouldn’t make a difference this week then 🙂

Ha! Hopefully not, but Saturday seems a long time ago now!

[…] is due in part to the netball game on Saturday, but also because I made it back to the gym at last, for the first time since all […]

Leave a Reply

