braindribbles

Changing other babies’ nappies

Posted on: 13/01/2011

Once upon a time, when my older two offspring were tiny, I did a stint as a childminder for a couple of years.

I really enjoyed it. I got to spend quality time with both my own children and another lovely baby. (If I hadn’t been trying to complete my studies I would gladly have kept doing it, but that’s another blog for another time.)

Anyhow there was only ever one thing I didn’t like doing.

Changing other babies’ nappies.

Don’t ask me why, but, unpleasant though it is, changing a stinky nappy from your own child’s bottom is no problem. Easily handled. You just make sure you don’t breathe through your nose.

So why is it so much more unpleasant doing other babies’ nappies? There’s nothing so different there that wasn’t in the one you changed a minute ago on your own child. And you’re not breathing through your nose anyway, right?

Nevertheless. I have a sneaky suspicion there are a lot of people out there who want to go into childcare but are put off by nappy changes for children who are not blood relations.  It’s just downright unpleasant.  Almost as bad as cleaning loos in a nursing home, which is so horrendous I try to block it from my memory.

Which is why, when my super duper home placement student actually volunteered to change my smallest one’s stinky nappy, twice, without comment or complaint, I was pretty impressed.

This is me. Impressed.

Wow.

Wow.

Leave a Reply

